Common Table Tennis Situations – 9 Situations Explained Here

Share

Even though you have been playing table tennis for years, there are situations where you aren’t sure if it is allowed. This post will provide the official rules that may raise questions in many cases. What happens if the ball bounces back because of spin? Can you double-touch the ball? Is it permitted to volley or double touch the ball? Do you know about the common table tennis situations?

Common table tennis situations

What happens if the ball bounces back?

This is the situation: Player A hits Player B’s serve with many backspins. The ball bounces to player B’s left. The backspin causes the ball to change direction and jump back over the net, touching the table on A’s side. Although this is not often, it happens pretty often. In the above example, Player A wins the point. Why? The rules do not describe this situation. However, one can evaluate the case by reading the power for return (2.7.1). “The ball shall be STRUCK until it touches the opponent’s courts directly or after touching them with the net assembly.” This is necessary for a good return. It is against the rules if the ball bounces back at the opposing side by itself. A receiver must hit the ball. What happens if the ball bounces over the net?

What happens if the ball bounces off of the net posts?

The netball is usually only when the ball hits the actual net. But what about other elements? Are they part of the net? Yes, net posts, clamps, and suspension (and all that goes with them) are counted as part of the net set. Rule 2.2.1 states: “The net assembly shall include the net, its suspension, and the supporting posts including the clamps attaching them onto the table.” All the points mentioned here apply to the actual net and the entire assembly. It is allowed for the ball to bounce off of the suspension or post and onto the table of the opponent.

Is it possible to volley or bounce the ball?

The ball must bounce. Unlike tennis, it is prohibited to touch the ball while in play. Let’s take a look at Rule 5.8. It states that a player “obstructs” the ball if it touches or travels towards his or her court. You can keep the ball from flying towards your opponent’s playing surface, as long as it is not above. If the ball has not yet missed your side of the table, you are not permitted to hit it volley.

Is it permissible to play the ball higher than the opposing side?

The ball must remain in the air as long as it bounces back after it bounced back. Player A may still touch the ball. Any rule does not prohibit this. Player B could go around the table and drop the ball.

What happens when the ball lands on your finger?

You can hit the ball with your finger rather than the racket. Is that allowed legally? It is legal to touch the ball from the wrist with your racket hand. It is acceptable for the ball to bounce on the finger of the opponent. This will not count as a point.

Is it permissible to play on the internet?

Yes, the ball can be played around the net so long as it touches the opposing side of the table. There is no restriction on how the ball can fly. The ball can be hit around the net during both the rally and the serving phase. The rule regarding the correct return states that the ball must touch the opponent’s net after being served or returned.

When the ball bounces against the edge of a table

The ball strikes the edge of the table and is known as an edge ball. The edge ball is similar to netball and can often lead to a point. It is legal if the ball bounces along the table’s edge. It is essential to know what the table’s edge is. Rule 2.1.2 says that the playing surface must not include the vertical sides of the tabletop. Therefore, the table edge is only the outermost edge. The table’s (outer) sides do not count. They are not counted if the ball touches them. It is considered a fault if the ball touches them from the side.

What happens when the ball touches and touches the net?

It is a netball when the ball touches first the net, then the opponent’s side of a table. Play continues as usual if a netball occurs during a rally. Let’s review the rule for the return. “The ball shall having been served, or returned,” It should be struck so that the ball touches the opponent’s net assembly. This is often a reason to apologize to your opponent.

It is called a “let” if a netball occurs on the serve (all rules can be found here). The serve is then repeated in this instance. Rule 9.1.1 states that the rally is a let “if the ball touches the net assembly during service, provided that the service is not incorrect or is obstructed or delayed by the receiver or his/her partner.”

Touching the ball twice

It can happen that the ball is not hit correctly, and you touch it more times than you intended. This is a fault. This is covered in rule 2.10.1.7. Rule 2.10.1.7 states that you are given a point if your opponent DELIBERATELY hits the ball more than once. In other words, if you accidentally touch or touch the ball twice or more, it is not considered a mistake, and the game will continue as usual. It is theoretically possible to touch the ball ten times. In reality, this is not possible. The umpire will decide if a double touch was intentional.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

one × one =

x